Thursday, February 24, 2011

crystal stilts get ready to drop a new LP in yer hands

crystal stilts are releasing their new LP "in love with oblivion" on april 12 via slumberland records.....

Here's what their label has to say......

"....Crystal Stilts burst out of Brooklyn's storied post-punk indie scene in 2008 with a string of releases that culminated in their fantastic debut album Alight Of Night. Deftly combining the spooked 60s Texas psych of 13th Floor Elevators and Red Crayola, the gothic blues/punk howl of Gun Club, the dark, experimental DIYism of early Flying Nun/Xpressway groups and a dash of classic 60s pop by way of early Mary Chain b-sides, Alight Of Night won universal accolades and established the band as first-class purveyors of haunting, atmospheric post-punk pop.

Spring 2009 saw them follow-up with the excellent 7" single of "Love Is A Wave," a live favorite that was backed with the twangy classicism of "Sugar Baby." The band toured the US and Europe, releasing Alight Of Night in the UK to yet more accolades. All the while they were writing new tunes, experimenting with new sounds and planning their next moves. Shake The Shackles is Crystal Stilts' first release since "Love Is A Wave" and is a great snapshot of where the band is now and a taster for their second album, due in april 2011. Driven by echoed guitar strum and droning keys, it's a dexterous update of 60s garage pop that places it alongside late 80s Paisley Underground heroes like Green On Red and later Dream Syndicate, but the song itself is totally timeless, and impossible to place anywhere but firmly in Crystal Stilts' own unique style."

listen below........

"in love with oblivion" tracklist-->
1 Sycamore Tree
2 Through the Floor
3 Silver Sun
4 Alien Rivers
5 Half a Moon
6 Flying Into the Sun
7 Shake the Shackles
8 Precarious Stair
9 Invisible City
10 Blood Barons
11 Prometheus at Large

No comments: